What Video Game Are You Currently Playing?

Posted by: kiku

What Video Game Are You Currently Playing? - 02/13/13 01:59 PM

This topic's title speaks for itself. What are you playing? Wanna talk about it? Let's here about it. Is it a grandiose RPG with more skill branches and synergies than you can shake a stick at? Are you hell on wheels in the world's hottest rally? Tell us about it. Maybe you're lost in the most infuriatingly labyrinthine dungeon crawler with no hope of escape... and you couldn't be happier. Maybe the supposed world record was just put to rest in your latest puzzle game; or maybe you've just discovered that you can, in fact, fire one million rounds per second in a space shooter. If your just plain havin' fun playing a video game, this is the topic to talk about in...

...which of course, brings me to the game that I recently started playing. It's a little gem on the Nintendo DS called Monster Tale. I can't remember the last time I had this much fun playing a video game. It's got a feeling reminiscent of Earthbound, yet plays a little like Super Metroid or one of the DS Castlevania titles. If you look and listen real hard, there's a little well played humor to be found. During my last sitting, the dialogue ever so subtly broke the fourth wall. Oh and cuteness, yes cuteness this game has in droves. Ellie is my new favorite character. Imagine if you will, Arumi Asahina from Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi; after undergoing nazi supersoldier moe training (kidding). She's got that super kawaiii sorta white shirt/dress thing going on. She fights with a Band (Mysterious Power Bracelet) and her Satchel among other things. Apparently later on she'll use her fists. Much combat can be relegated to the title's namesake Monster: Chomp. Feeding/raising Chomp is a cute and rewarding experience. Call me old school, but I can have just as much or more fun on a handheld as I can on a moniter.
Posted by: Cheap One