SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto)

Complete series available as Litebox-style DVD set on May 7, 2013.

GRIMES, Iowa, Jan. 23, 2013 – Anime producer and distributor Right Stuf, Inc. and its Nozomi Entertainment division are pleased to announce the   SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto) Complete Series DVD setwill be available on May 7, 2013

This new set repackages all 12 television episodes of Sound of the Sky – plus the two special episodes from the home video release of the series – with Japanese audio, English subtitles and English on-screen translations, along with on-disc extras.

“great animation and a sense of presence and atmosphere…
an almost theatrical feeling with its pacing and attention to detail”

- Chris Beveridge, The Fandom Post 

“soulful and contemplative”
- Theron Martin, Anime News Network

Also known by the title “Sora no Woto,” Sound of the Sky aired on TV Tokyo and via Internet simulcast in early 2010. It was the first series produced as part of the “Anime no Chikara” program, a joint initiative by TV Tokyo and Aniplex to develop original animated content for television.

The series is based on an original concept by Paradores and features direction by Mamoru Kanbe (Elfen Lied, Letter Bee: Light and Blue Night Fantasy), series composition and scripting by Hiroyuki Yoshino (Macross Frontier, My-Otome) and animation by A-1 Pictures (Black Butler, Fractale). Sound of the Sky’s opening theme is composed by Yuki Kajiura (Noir, .hack//SIGN) and performed by Kalafina (Black Butler).

Visit soundofthesky.rightstuf.com for more information about Sound of Sky (Sora no Woto).

About SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto)

In a lonely corner of the world, on the edge of No Man’s Land, sits Clocktower Fortress. It’s home to the 1121st Platoon of the Helvetian Army, and their newest member is a 15-year-old volunteer named Kanata Sorami, who enlisted to learn how to play the bugle. When she was a child, Kanata was saved by a beautiful soldier and found inspiration in the clear, golden sound of her trumpet. From that day forward, Kanata decided music would be her life. As the other platoon members train her how to be a bugler and a soldier, Kanata’s enduring optimism will inspire them to look for happiness and beauty, even in a world haunted by war.

Contains episodes 1-12, plus two special episodes!

SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto) Complete Series
Format: DVD (Litebox)
Pre-Book: 4/2/2013
Street Date: 5/7/2013

Runtime: 355 minutes
Genre: Drama
Suggested Rating: 16+

Audio: Japanese (Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo)
Subtitles: English subtitles, English on-screen translations
Video: 16:9 Anamorphic widescreen, Color
Catalog #: RSDVD1364
ISBN: 1-57032-741-6
UPC: 7-42617-1364-2-9
SRP: $39.99

Discs/Set: 4
Case Quantity: 30

U.S. trailer, alternate version of Episode 1 (with full opening credits sequence), character bios, line art gallery, and trailers.

* Cover Art: http://outgoing.rightstuf.com/sleeves/rsdvd1364.jpg 
SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto) (SO•RA•NO•WO•TO) © Paradores/Aniplex/1121 
* To view this image, cut and paste the URL into your Web browser.

** Product specifications and content may be subject to change.

Marketing Specialist
Right Stuf, Inc.
e: christys@rightstuf.com
twitter: SobaNoodleFan