Start Shopping! Cart ?

Yoshida Brothers CD: Ibuki

Originally released in 1999, the Yoshida Brothers' debut album Ibuki is getting a well-deserved re-release from Domo, marking the first time it has been available in the U.S. market. When originally released, the disc sold over 100,000 copies - an incredible feat, since up to that point most tsugaru-shamisen recordings rarely sold more than a thousand copies in Japan.

The album features mostly traditional tsugaru-shamisen songs, though hints of the Brothers' signature style are starting to emerge. From the very beginning, it was clear that the group was bringing this ancient three-stringed instrument into modern times, interpreting its sound for a contemporary audience. This disc deservedly turned the Yoshida Brothers into rock stars in their native land, another rarity for tsugaru-shamisen instrumentalists. Take a listen to where the journey began.

Track Listing:

  1. Modern
  2. Tsugaru Aiyabushi (Kenichi)
  3. Ibuki
  4. Tsugaru Oharabushi (Ryoichiro)
  5. Tsugaru Yosarebushi (Kenichi)
  6. Tsugaru Jonkarabushi Kakeai Kyokuhiki (Ibuki Version)
  • At Least 40% OFF DVDs & Blu-ray discs From Section23 & More! - No
  • Publisher - DOMO
  • Media - Audio CD
  • Release Date - Jan 31 2010
  • Product Availability - We'll Get It for You! (More Information)

Submit your own review of this item.

  • Retail Price: $15.98
  • Your Price: $14.38
  • Quantity:
  • Item: 731022
  • Save an additional 10% with Got Anime?
  • Free Canadian Shipping @ $250
  • Free US Economy Shipping @ $49

People Ordering This Have Also Been Interested In:

See more products people have ordered with this one.

Do you have questions about this item or a correction to the description? Send us some feedback!