Start Shopping! Cart ?

Ghost in the Shell DVD (Hyb)

continue shopping
Reviews of this title:

Fred Janel - Feb 16 1999
Rating: Wonderful!
Good plot, excellent backgronds
This one lives up to its hype. There is enough gratuitous sex and violence to satisfy most viewers, and the ending has a decent twist to it. The backgrounds are truly well drawn and that alone makes this title worth getting. The plot was a little confusing at the beginning but became clear about halfway into it. The music score is traditional Japanese. I would have prefered some "heavier" stuff, but...

If you don't have this one in your collection, get it now!

Chris - May 22 1999
Rating: Wonderful!
A great animie for the DVD.
Ghoust in the Shell really a movie you should get. It has a kind of a confusing story when you get started, but when you get to the end I'm sure you can figure it out. Ghoust has cool gun fights and good special effects though out the movie. Reconmended not for the whole family viewing, there are parts in the movie were the character in naked a few times.

KULVULCAN - Jan 10 2000 Absolute-0@worldnet.att.net
Rating: Pretty good!
Not for those who seek a no-brainer
Plain and simple... Anyone who tells you they did not like it, does not have the capacity for creative thinking. Anyone who tells you it is the best, is just a trend-clone of a person, of which has not seen enough anime to form a more informed opinion. Due to the media coverage this movie got, it is over-hyped. Street talk makes it out to be the be-all-end-all anime. However, everything about this movie is high quality, and very clever (though not as in depth or ingeniuos as the manga). Expect a lot of mood development, and some conflicting characterization (in a good way). Brilliant technological evolution! Those seeking a no-brainer, with opening-to-credits big booms and car chases... go away! If you want one of the most intellectually inclined sci-fi's since Bladerunner, BUY NOW!

Carlos Ivan - Feb 26 2001 carlosguzmanjr@hotmail.com
Rating: Wonderful!
One of the greatest anime I've seen!!!
Despite being an adult film, the art and special effects are incredibly good with a plot pretty clever.

Handel - Apr 19 2001 Prodigal22@aol.com
Rating: Wonderful!
Superb!
One of the other revies for this movie is right on the money: don't get this if you don't want to worry about what the real story is. I had to watch this movie like 3 times before I could make real sense of it. But it got better every time, because of that fact. There is a fair amount of action and a lot of talking, but this movie is a keeper. The animation, art & CGI work are incredible. The soundtrack is amazing (and I don't speak, read or understand a word of Japanese), and the DVD only enhances an already great movie.

NATE - Apr 19 2001 natesplash@yahoo.com
Rating: Wonderful!
Solid classic! Good "Blade-runner" style anime' psychological thriller!!
Yes, "Ghost In The Shell" was over-hyped & to some extent, over-rated. Yes, it is kind of a "Ho-hum" slow moving Anime'. But, for what it is, a psychological, neo-futuristic, cyber-punk melodrama, it's very astutely accomplished in both its artistry of animation & its plot. If you're looking for a "Ninja Scroll", "Akira" or "Wicked City" type movie here however, this would most ardently not be your pick. I personally discovered that the story was refreshingly compelling & insightfully thought provoking by the course in which it unfolds. The animation is, as stated repeatedly, intimidating in its intricate detail & design (not as polished & detailed as "X" though). And for a psychological thriller, light-years (both figurative & literal) beyond the very predictable, mind-wrenching snoozer, "Perfect Blue”. But it could have incorporated far more action into the plot than it led many to believe it would have (according to all the promos), and it could have done this without harming the movie's true intent & purpose. For a "Blade Runner" style flick, it should have had a level of action to compliment its deeply synaptic & thespianic themes. I do however, recommend it, as well as own it myself on DVD.

Shingetta - Jun 5 2001 corgreen@coqui.net
Rating: This sucked!
I HATE...
I hate complicated storylines, The character desing was AWFUL, too much BLAH,BLAH,BLAH, slow action, the dubbing could be better and it had a stinky setting. until now.

P.S: It was worse than the movie MATRIX!!!! until now.

David Harper - Feb 14 2002 david_harper_1983@yahoo.co.uk
Rating: Pretty good!
Pretty good but did anyone find the sound was out with the picture?
Well I didn't buy it from here, I bought it in a shop here in the UK. I like Ghost in the Shell. However on the UK DVD the sound was out by about 1/2 a second, this made it look like a bad dub, also when a gun fires (say a machine gun) you will see the gun fireing then the sound comes after the gun fires. Very anoying. I don't know if this is a problem with just the UK version or if its on all version. Apart from that Ghost in the Shell is great! And the Matrix wouldn't even exist if it wasn't for Ghost in the Shell even the people who made the Matrix said that!

T L - Jul 12 2002
Rating: Wonderful!
THIS DVD KICKS ASS !!!!!!!
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ANIME MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN. IT HAS A GOOD AMOUNT OF ACTION. PLUS YOU HAVE TO USE YOUR BRAIN A LITTLE BIT. TO FOLLOW WHAT IS GOING ON. I GUESS IF YOU DONT LIKE TO THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE WATCHING, THIS DVD ISN'T FOR YOU

Josh M. Hopkins - Jul 15 2005 s0nofs8n@yahoo.com
Rating: Wonderful!
One of the Best
This was one of the movies that got me into anime. Ghost in the shell is a deep, intelligent, and original(at least when it was released) movie that really does make you think, so dont buy it if you have trouble following anime. Its a classic that really does live up to the hype. This and the other titles in the G.I.T.S. universe(Part 2:innocence and the series Stand alone complex) are must haves for your dvd collection.

Ryan Scott - Sep 4 2005 ttjrscott@hotmail.com
Rating: Wonderful!
Do I need to say anything at all?
Awesome in a word. A complete joy to watch again and again and again and again.

Kevin Skewes - Oct 31 2005
Rating: Wonderful!
Great!
I loved this! It is my fav Anime. everyone should see it.

Jesse Hausler - Jan 6 2006
Rating: Pretty good!
Good movie, but not my cup of tea
For the most part, the most over-hyped anime of all time lives up to its praise. The movie is beautifully drawn and animated, the voice actors do a nice job, and the plot definitely will make you think. They also spend a lot of time setting up a cool atmosphere, something you don't see very often.

On the other hand, "Ghost in the Shell" does have its flaws. More than anything, it often suffers from getting too bogged down in philosophy. I certainly don't mind an anime getting "deep" on me, but sometimes this gets so wordy (in explaining itself) that you'll find yourself tapping your fingers in impatience. I guess this might improve its value as a "work of art", but it's a strike against it as entertainment. Also, I HATED the ending. I won't say any more than that.

Overall, it's a good movie that all anime fans should TRY, but be warned that "Ghost in the Shell" is not for everyone. Coincidentally, it has some differences in continuity with "Stand Alone Complex" that make me wonder if that might be an "alternate version" of the series, rather than a sequel or prequel. 'Course, I could be wrong... Anyhoo, I mildly recommend "Ghost in the Shell". Bye.

ROY SANDOW - Feb 19 2008 ROYSCARTOON@YAHOO.COM
Rating: Wonderful!
A very good thriler movie
A very good action movie; there were lots of things to think about as Masamune Shirow put things to think about. I recomend that this DVD be an addition to your collection. It is a thinking mans type of movie with alot of action put into it.

Mike Givens - Jun 6 2013
Rating: Wonderful!
The most essential anime of all
The first anime I ever saw was Gundam Wing on Cartoon Network. But my wife recorded Ghost in the Shell one afternoon while I was away from home and THAT was my real introduction to anime. I recommend to everyone who is new to anime that Ghost in the Shell is one they must watch and also add to their collection. I hope GitS never goes out of print, it's that important to anime. And I think the Major is the sexiest woman in anime.